Skip to content

Good Times. These Are The Good Times.

October 9, 2010

I am tuckered out, my friends. Plum tuckered out.

I painted the first layer of chartreuse on both of the drum tables and the first layer of turquoise on the bookcase. Just you wait until those are done. You are going to be so jealous!

Also? I now want to paint every item of furniture that we own. I am addicted to painting furniture.

The Big Nugget and I took a drive this evening in the ’66 Land Rover, topless. The Land Rover was topless. As were both of our almost-bald heads.  We both had our shirts on.

We went to Pot Bellies for dinner. But we didn’t buy the Land Rover a sandwich. Do I have to spell all of this out for you people?

Now I’m home and trying to watch the Twins vs. Yankees playoff game and I just can’t give it my full attention. It’s just too painful. Damn Yankees.

Instead, I’m keeping one eye on the baseball game while I scan old photos.

For your viewing pleasure:

Back in my college days I was about as fashion-oriented as I am today. Click on the photos for a closer look. The calendar on the door is from January or February 1980. Which would make me roomates, at the time, with Fahimehgoonerbabybatchanaimabadi. Before she became Fahimehgoonerbabybatchnaimabadimortensen. *sigh : stupid breast cancer taking the gooner away*

Here I am sporting a designer sweatshirt. Which is about as fashionable as I’ll ever get. Sasson. I don’t believe I ever owned a pair of Sasson jeans. I did, for sure, own a pair of purple velour Calvin Klein jeans back then. Awesome. I don’t know where the swim cap and goggles came from. I don’t believe I’ve ever had a dorm roomate who was on the college swim team. Did we have a college swim team? Did we have a college pool?  Not to my knowledge.

In this photo I am drunk.

And I’m not wearing any underwear.

Stop trying to look for my lack of underwear. You can’t see that I’m not wearing underwear. I just know this because before I came back to my dorm room, I’d been out partying in the woods behind Gage Center. And I had to go to the bathroom. While dressed in overalls. I didn’t want to pee on my overalls so I put them aside. I didn’t want to pee on my  underwear either so I tossed them aside. Only the aside was in the up direction and my underwear got stuck in a tree.

I kid you not. My friend, Spaz, was there to witness. If she and I were still communicating, I’d have her testify. Unfortunately, Spaz kept on drinking and drugging long after college – while I reformed to occasional drinking. I wonder how she’s doing, but not enough to want to hang out with that kind of crap anymore.

I wonder who’s “Minnesota” shirt I’m wearing. I don’t recall ever owning one. I’m glad I’m wearing a watch so that I can know what time it is at any drunken moment. Probably wanted to make sure I didn’t miss Last Call at the Albatross. And, uh, a Snoopy button? Always fashionable!

In this totally crisp photo (who’s drunk now?) I am getting ready to head out to do me some disco. Probably at the Albatross, again. If you could see this photo in real life, you’d be able to see right away that I am wearing satin pants.

What you can’t see, because I hadn’t done it yet, was that I’d finish up getting my disco pants ready by putting rubberbands around my ankles, making them disco satin genie pants.

And then I’d dance for 3 seconds and my hair would go flat. Why I ever used a curling iron is beyond me.

In my last photo for the night, here I am eating popsicles at my dorm room desk. I love what’s all around me. My old radio that could pick up WLS from Chicago and Greenwich Mean Time in the middle of the night. Creepy bonging in the middle of the night, was Greenwich Mean Time.

On my bulletin board is the Reese’s t-shirt that I cut up and a magazine ad for Close Encounters of the Third Kind. I can also see bottles of Love’s Baby Soft and Rain colognes on the shelf above my bulletin board.

I also see a couple of open textbooks. Wonder how those got in there?

Know what I don’t see? Cellulite! Those shorts were up to my wazoo and there’s not a speck of cellulite on me.

Those were the days, my friend, I thought they’d never end. I’d sing and laugh, forever and day.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    October 9, 2010 9:43 pm

    We led parallel lives there for a bit. In many ways. Oh God!

  2. October 9, 2010 10:04 pm

    Yeah, they were the days. But these are new days!

  3. October 10, 2010 8:31 am

    I wonder what ever happened to your underwear flung up into the tree?? Mayhaps someone got a head start on their next panty raid….Hahahahaha

  4. October 10, 2010 11:40 am

    Ah, the turn of the 80s. Back when herpes was the biggest scary thing on campus. My roommate, Neenah, from LawnGiland (say it out loud), teetered around the dorm floor in wooden-heeled Candies’ clogs, midriff-revealling Sassoon sweatshirts, and cigarette jeans. She looked like a total slut, but no boy was ever rich enough. Meanwhile, on my side of the room was a typewriter (used often), “smoking apparatus” (ditto), an original watercolor by a friend, a quilt made by a 90 year old, 6 cannabis sativa plants growing IN THE WINDOW. But not me. I was at my boyfriends’ at Tufts. Our generation sprang from the addled brains of our hippie aunts, uncles and older siblings. We knew just how to party.

  5. October 11, 2010 11:26 am

    I still love macrame plant holders.

  6. Su Chick permalink
    October 13, 2010 8:31 pm

    Very cool people went to the Albatross in “Cato”, I remember that quite well being from southern Minnesota. I wish I could remember the name of the famous dormitory on the Mankato State campus — there was always a party happening there. And WLS — they always played the greatest rock ‘n roll music.

  7. October 20, 2010 10:24 pm

    I’m with you on the parallel lives too. I even partied in the woods, in overalls, but I didn’t toss my panties in the trees (not that I remember anyway!).

Leave a Reply

