Skip to content

The Mighty Oak Tree

October 12, 2010

Just to clear things up a little: The rude woman with the paper wasn’t talking religion. She could probably  use a little Christianity. I’m just sayin’.

I am not looking forward to spending time with her today. I surely won’t be assertive about where we can sit. Sorry for causing so much damn trouble, hateful woman. BTW the Big Nugget’s group sat in the sun because one woman wanted to sit in the sun, and they roasted.

That religious thing is a big deal to the 12-steps program, which is how that topic of god came up several times. It’s as though you had better figure out what your higher power is or it’s not going to be successful. Even if you have to name a tree as your higher power. Which to me seems incredibly insane. Hey oak tree – I believe in you.

Oh. Hey. I do believe in oak trees. Maybe they’ve got something going there.

I wish that there was something in-between for the 12-steps program. Drop the “higher power” and change:

  • Step 2Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity
  • Step 5Admitted to God, to ourselves and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs
  • Step 6Were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character
  • Step 7Humbly asked God to remove our shortcomings
  • Step 11Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God as we understood God, praying only for knowledge of God’s will for us and the power to carry that out
  • Step 12Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to other addicts, and to practice these principles in all our affairs

“Just remove the ‘god’ ” the believers say. Which leaves me with what? Oh yeah. The oak tree. The problem I have with this kind of stuff is that it takes my responsibilities and hands them over to this higher power. I am not going to ask that anyone remove my shortcomings but myself. And really? Ask god to remove all these defects of character? Nice. I’ll be sitting over here, god, let me know when you’re done removing my defects of character.

We need something god-free. Something that makes us responsible. With deep breathing.

Purple Chai – that has always made me shake my head – the swearing on a bible in a court of law. Separation of church and state? What is a bible doing in a court room? And like you, it doesn’t mean anything to me either. I like the swearing on the Constitution idea. Man, I hope I never have to go to court because I’ll start trouble there!

(lower case) kris – Not to worry. I know that there a smart christians out there that can believe in both. I just think that the birth of one should clarify out a lot of the other.

No one was shoving their religion at me yesterday. It was the expression of Jesus – the son of god, that really torqued me. There was a Jewish person amongst us. And how we kept coming back to the 12-steps and the insistence that you need a Higher Power. Somebody made a statement that I need to find some higher power and another person just didn’t know how a person could live without having god. I’m mostly annoyed with the Giant God Influence that is the 12-steps. We non-believers need something else to work with.

Better go. Fun awaits.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 8:05 am

    Oh, I hear you loud and clear on this one! I went to Al-Anon for awhile, and all that surrendering really got to me.

  2. October 12, 2010 8:32 am

    Several years ago there was a tv show in which “God” appeared to the protagonist in several different guises. At one point, she told him, “if you’re God, show me a miracle.” He pointed to a tree. She said, “that’s not a miracle.” He said, “okay, you make one.”

    I always go back to, you can believe what you like. You — anyone, for that matter — cannot push your beliefs onto me.

  3. October 12, 2010 9:40 am

    Tsk! that paper-rattling woman, bullying our Kathy! It does not fly. Rip her a new A-hole today.
    Do tell us what you are learning in AA that is helpful, would you please? That you wish you’d known sooner?
    It’s hard not to judge bible-toting, God-spouting Christians. I tend to think of them as folk hiding from natural human fears, rather than folk running toward truth. Those of us who read tarot cards and meditate aren’t much different, when you get down to the basics: we do what we have to in order to feel safe in our powerless-in-the-long-run ways. As if prayer or meditation or belief in a power bigger than ourselves is some kind of insurance against the risks in life.
    I don’t believe in the Christian man in the sky, either. But when my back is to the wall and things are dark, I do talk to someone up there.

  4. dakotagirl permalink
    October 12, 2010 10:01 am

    Just remember….going to church makes you a Christian just as much as standing in a garage makes you a car.

    • Donna permalink
      October 12, 2010 6:36 pm

      or the Southern variation thereof: just because the cat had kittens in the oven, doesn’t make them biscuits.

  5. dakotagirl permalink
    October 12, 2010 4:47 pm

    I think of Christian as more of a verb. Act nice, treat others well, don’t be an asshat.

  6. October 12, 2010 7:10 pm

    I’ve always wondered why Christians get to spout their faith all over the place. Then when someone of a different faith opens their mouth, they get Christianity shoved down their throats. I’ve seen it so many times. And now that I have a kid in school, and I’m on the bus stop with other stay-at-home moms, I get to hear how all Muslims hate Americans and want to blow us up, and why I should be wary of the foreign kids in our neighborhood because they’re being taught to hate Americans. Um. They’re guests of our government! WTF?!

    My best friend is a pretty devout Christian. She prays for me every day. Which I appreciate, of course, but what I appreciate even more is how she doesn’t try to convince me to go back to church at every turn. She’s just as respectful of my non-belief as I am of her belief. And that’s why we’re BFFs.

Leave a Reply

