Skip to content

Serenity Now With Pink Tulips

October 13, 2010

I’ve got session #2 with Chuck tomorrow. I might just drive over there now and sleep in the parking lot, with my anticipation level being very high.

I think Chuck needs to help me with some anger issues. You know, those anger issues that got me so heated up about the higher power stuff. I’m ready to stop being so mad about that. I’m ready to stop being so angry with my addicted son. I just want more peace in my life.

Serenity now.

Today was the wrap-up for the parent’s program at the rehab center. I am so thankful that I got to participate in such a great and intense program. I don’t know of many drug and alcohol treatment centers that offer this much of a program for the parents of addicts.  I have a lot of tools to use in my letting go.

It’s very freeing to not be responsible for fixing somebody else’s addiction. Especially when it’s of no use. All I can do is hope that one day my son will want to manage his disease.

I had such a wonderful morning, skipping out on the parent’s program. I attended the Caribou Coffee/Mall of America/Susan G. Komen Foundation groundbreaking/tulip planting of Amy’s Garden. A garden that sits at the start of the annual Mother’s Day Race for the Cure. By next spring, the walk will be started in front of a huge garden of Amy’s favorite pink tulip. Several of them planted by me!

Cam didn’t tell me, because I don’t think she knew, but I was invited to sit with her, Amy’s sisters and niece right up front while a local news person talked. There were cameras and photographers recording the event that will be aired on a local television station soon. We didn’t know the date but someone from Caribou will let Cam know and she’ll let me know so I can either let you know or find the clip and share it with you.

I was greeted by everyone with such warmth and so many well wishes that it just really boosted me up.

Let me tell you people, if I were so inclined, I’d be finding myself a job with Caribou’s office. My god, there are some incredible people working there!

Cam – thank you for inviting me. I’m looking forward to walking with you next May! And look! I didn’t even blog about how you talked me into stealing a tulip to plant at my house (I didn’t even mention the one that you took!)

Oh wait. Guess I did.

Love ya!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 9:53 pm

    I am totally grinning ear to ear. You were totally on my shoulder yesterday when I packed up 3/4 of my books to donate. I realized that if I want to reread any of them (that I’ve already read countless times) that the library can help me out. It was purge city with books and shoes I tell you, although I have an embarrassing amount of Chucks still…

    Don’t forget that you can always believe in pink tulips for sure.

  2. Jean permalink
    October 15, 2010 8:34 am

    The turquoise peace sign earrings were way TOO CUTE to give away. They are dangling from my ears as I comment! Guess I’ll have to give her a pair of socks, or something…

Leave a Reply

