Skip to content

Calm

October 15, 2010

I am physically exhausted right now. If I can keep myself awake while I think about all I’ve done in this week, it’s easy to see why I’m so wiped out:

  • We went to four intense days of the parent’s program at the addiction treatment facility. That, all by it’s little loneself is enough to wipe out anybody. I hope you never have to parent an addict. But if you do, I hope your son or daughter’s rehab clinic offer a parent’s program. It’s incredibly empowering even if it does nothing else but to teach you how powerless you are over your child’s addiction.
  • I went to the groundbreaking of Amy’s Garden at the Mall of America. Which was filmed for t.v. (no date of airing yet) Putting my nearly-bald head out there for all the world to see. Caribou Coffee has a lot of really cool execs. Incredibly kind people.
  • I went for my second appointment with Chuck. Which was as good as my first appointment with Chuck. Again I did  not cry. Chuck is probably working on the commitment papers this weekend. But really, I didn’t need to cry.
  • I painted two tables and a bookcase. Oh, and I spray-painted an antique wig/hat stand (that I can hang my earrings on).
  • I applied for a number of next semester’s classes.
  • I slept on the couch last night because the wallpaper removal/wall painter guy has been here the past two days. He’ll be back to skimcoat on Monday. He put a an oil primer on the wall so we can’t sleep until the smell is gone. I’m moving to a basement futon. Couches are not for me. Once he skimcoats, we’ll have to be out of the room for a couple more days – and then I can get in to paint! I might as well set up a temporary bedroom in the basement for awhile.
  • I went to my first Al-Anon meeting, ever. I think there were about 60 people in attendance. I liked how it was run and plan on going back next week. I want to check out some others, too. Specifically ones geared for parents of addicts. But even with just this meeting – it gives me so much comfort to know that I’ve got a place to go when I need to get calm after the storm.

Which is how I’m feeling after this long week…calm.

Didn’t think that could ever happen to me.

A special thank you to Judy Beauty today. You know what you did. And for that, I thank you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 10:38 pm

    Calm is an excellent place to be. I am so glad for you!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    October 16, 2010 8:31 am

    I remember not wanting to be at my first al anon meeting. And then it felt like a giant knot inside me just let go, just by being there and not even saying anything. That was worth it all by itself. Good for you.

  3. Agent99 permalink
    October 16, 2010 8:44 am

    It must feel so good to move forward. You deserve calm, pink tulips of serenity, and an awesome bedroom. Congratulations!

    P.S. How many credits?

  4. Vonnie permalink
    October 18, 2010 5:11 am

    Al-Anon is wonderful! Don’t be hesitant to try all kinds of different meetings, times, places. You’ll find a place that feels like home. Service within Al-Anon has an incredible healing aspect to it, also.

    I need to paint a bookshelf that I bought last weekend. It’s stained and I think it has a light coat of polyurethane on it. Do I need to sand it before I Kilz it?

  5. Floweer permalink
    October 18, 2010 6:42 am

    Can’t wait to start painting. The timing is perfect. Have a great day girl. We will be in touch.

  6. Fay permalink
    October 18, 2010 1:55 pm

    I feel you on the higher power stuff. But Al-Anon helped me anyway, because of a powerful statement that resonated with me (and forgive me if I’ve sent this to you before): “Take what you like, and leave the rest.” Yeah, there’s lots of Jesus, but they’re not (supposed to be, anyway) forcing you to USE the Jesus, if you don’t want to. That was good for me; and the parts I liked were very helpful.

Leave a Reply

