Skip to content

Tidbit Monday

October 18, 2010

Why was last night’s episode of Mad Men the season finale of Mad Men? Didn’t it just start? I didn’t miss any of them.

Weird.

I finished signing up for my final class for the spring semester (that starts in January) I’ll be taking four classes and then qualify to receive a Medical Receptionist certificate. I decided to can the Medical Transcription diploma. I’ll just make sure that when I apply for jobs they know that I can run the transcription doohickey (I’ll put that in my cover letter – “I know how to run the transcription doohickey”), that I type somewhere in the 90 wpm area (my cover letter will say – “I type at least one wpm than my friend, Karna, in case she’s applying for the same job”) *hi Karna!*, and that my hearing is pretty good. Unless I messed it up while sanding with the Festool.

My body is tired from the moving of the furniture and the sanding of the furniture and the moving of the furniture again.

It was nice to sit and bead with Teech (Carol – that’s you!) yesterday. Will be lather rinsing and repeating with Floweer this week.

I just got back from taking Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, Squirrel Eater, for a walk. She never tires. I was hoping to wear her down a little because she’s got a mani/pedi this afternoon. I’m not going back to that little place with the odd woman who makes us bring our dogs in around her t.v. viewing schedule. God. That was nuts. Stella’s going back to PetsMart. I’ll just be prepared to deal with her hyperness throughout the store and make sure to let people know that she doesn’t want to be pet unless their willing to be jumped on. And by “jumped on” I mean “knocked over.”

Lord, she’s a hyper beast. She went nuts on the walk whenever she saw a squirrel. As though I never feed her. Which I’m thinking about not doing. She can catch her own meals. Kim B? Want to hire her to come and eat from your squirrel buffet?

Tomorrow I have my pre-op appointment before next week’s surgery. Can’t wait for the weigh-in.

Not.

Don’t I have enough on my plate without having to weigh in?

What else have I got to get off of my chestless chest for you?

The painter is here, skimcoating the walls of my bedroom (that’s what she said). He’ll come back later in the week to sand them and once that’s done, I can start painting the walls! White. God. What a letdown after the excitement and expense of it all. You’d think that on principle alone, I’d paint the room a ridiculously intense color. But nay, I ain’t gonna do it. White walls go well with accents of turquoise, chartreuse and gray. And then if I come to my senses and see that color combination for what it is, I can change it with one shopping spree.

Thing 2 starts his new job this evening. After his night class ends at 10 p.m. Inventory for the store he’ll be working as a sales associate for. If this doesn’t grow hair on the young man’s chest, I don’t know what will. I’m just a bit worried that he won’t be able to find his way from the south side of the Twin Cities to the north side of the Twin Cities throughout the construction zone he’ll be traveling. But I won’t worry too much because what have I learned over the past week? I can’t control everything. The boy could find his way to St. Paul for a concert last week and to downtown Minneapolis for a concert last night, he should be able to make it from one suburb to another. He’s got google maps and a cellphone.

Serenity now!

What else. (Can you tell I’m avoiding things that need to get done around the house?)

I made pumpkin muffins with cinnamon chips/chopped up chocolate and brownies this weekend. Which explains why I worry about weigh-ins at the doctor’s office.

And now I suppose I’m done.

Because I just remembered the crispy garlic bread I have that will make a great grilled cheese with ham & tomato sandwich.

That’s how I roll.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dakotagirl permalink
    October 18, 2010 12:45 pm

    I agree about Mad Men. I think they had about 6 episodes is all. So do I have to wait a year for the new season?

  2. October 18, 2010 2:32 pm

    Rule of thumb: never put questionable colors or patterns in permanent places. (I don’t use wallpaper either.) If it’s in a curtain or bedspread, you can change it easily. If it’s on the wall, you’re stuck.

Leave a Reply

