Skip to content

The Young Girl with the Sage Advice

October 19, 2010

I had my pre-op appointment with my primary care physician this morning. All is well. All is really well – my blood pressure remains normal! He talked me into a flu shot. Which wasn’t hard to do because I was going to ask him about a flu shot but had forgotten. I’m glad one of us has our act together.

The Big Nugget had been in to see him yesterday and was diagnosed with a double case of hernias. I mentioned it to the doctor today, who asked me, “Did you feel them?”

“Uh. Ah. No – but he showed them to me!” God. How embarrassing. I don’t think he realized what he was asking and I don’t think I’d realized what I’d said. Thanks, Big Nugget, for showing me your hernias. God! Men! I’m just glad he didn’t send me a photo via cell phone! So it looks like the Big Nugget will be having his own surgery somewhere down the road.

After my appointment I drove over to Value Village with a couple of bags and some boxes of donations. But I couldn’t get the hatch on the Highlander to open. Thankfully the nice man at Value Village was willing to climb into my back seat and reach over for my donations. Once I left there I put a call into the auto shop to have them take a look at it again. It was working fine yesterday afternoon but the Big Nugget said he’d had trouble with it on Sunday.

Then I ran in to Pier 1 to look at a chair I’d seen in their window. They have the cutest chairs now. I’m so sick of our gigantic furniture that we bought 15 years ago. I don’t think the Big Nugget will agree that we NEED a couple of new chairs though, so I was pretty much torturing myself. Why can’t I be the boss of all of our money? We’d have new chairs every year! Which explains why I can’t be the boss of all of our money.

This afternoon I finished walking the damn dog and sanding dresser drawers, and NEEDED to get out of the house. Sometimes, there are just too many people at home at the same time. And sometimes, particular people are not meant to spend much time together. That would be me and Thing 1. We are not getting along at all. Have not gotten along for a long time now but I’ve been pretending that everything was okay. It’s not. So instead of avoiding eye contact and not trying to make any sudden movements that might start a conversation that never goes well, I got the heck out of the house and took my book club book (that I don’t think I’ll finish in time for book club on Thursday) and headed over to Caribou. Unfortunately Caribou was full of old people sipping cheap cups of fresh brew so I took my latte and headed out to find a nice parking lot to read in.

Did I tell you that I’m drinking only decaf these days? Do you know how hard it is to stay awake when the sun is warming up your car? I gave up on trying to read the book and headed out in search of a cake dome. I don’t know why but all of a sudden I wanted a cake dome so that I could put muffins on a plate and top them with a glass dome. My family doesn’t eat muffins or cookies or brownies if they’re not sitting in direct view. I didn’t want a cake tier with a dome. Just a glass dome. Here’s who didn’t have cake domes: Home Goods, Bed Bath & Beyond, Pottery Barn, Restoration Hardware, Crate & Barrel, and Target. Apparently I just made the whole idea up and no manufacturers are privvy to what goes on in my head. Crate & Barrel had some cheese domes but they were too small. I did find a cute little glass jar at Crate & Barrel (for only $9.95!) that will work just as well. I should have bought 2. But hey, I can go back on another day when I’m avoiding conflict.

When did Restoration Hardware turn into just a furniture store? Are they aware of the economy? I miss the little gadgets and accessories.

At Bed Bath & Beyond the cute little blonde cashier (I bought a turkey baster and a brining bag – fyi) said to me, “I like your hair! I had that cut, too!” And I thought that she meant that she’d had a crew cut, seeing as how she was only in her early 20s, I’m guessing. So I just said, “Thanks!”. But then she said, “My chemo hair was so fuzzy! Have you tried Nioxin shampoo?” I hadn’t so she said, “I’m going to write it on your receipt so you don’t forget. It really made my hair grow faster. You can get it at Ulta.” How lucky is this girl’s mom?

I went to Ulta and a sales associate was really helpful. She said her mom had gone through chemo and used the Nioxin herself. So we’ll see how it goes!

I treated myself to a Fresh Ginger Ginger Ale at The Big Bowl before heading back home. It was a much more pleasant way to spend my afternoon. I hate to run around spending money, but I didn’t spend too much and I was able to pick up a baptism gift for my great niece and a birthday gift for a girlfriend. Definitely better than sitting at home when home isn’t always the sanctuary a person would want it to be.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 9:33 pm

    Hang in there…

  2. Leslie permalink
    October 19, 2010 9:41 pm

    Just want to say that you always brighten my day.

  3. October 19, 2010 11:26 pm

    Nioxin helped me after my bariatric surgery when my hair started to fall out.

    Also, did you try The Kitchen Window or Williams Sonoma? Or maybe look online. I love Overstock.com but they can be hit or miss.

    Thanks for the update. I may need your furniture painting expertise after our move next month. I have a bookshelf I want to paint and a bookshelf I want to refinish. Then there is a dresser I want to repaint but it’s dark blue so will probably have to strip really well first. Blech.

  4. October 20, 2010 7:49 am

    Aw, that cashier was so cute! I hope the Nioxin works for you!

    I admire you for drinking decaf. If I ever gave up caffeine, it would not end well. For anybody.

  5. Sue permalink
    October 20, 2010 8:54 am

    Yay for getting out when you need to! Sounds like you had a great day running into nothing but nice people. That is sometimes rare these days. Wish I could find a place in western Pennsylvania that sells homemade ginger ale.

  6. October 20, 2010 10:47 am

    How awesome was that cashier?! I really hope the Nioxin helps. Good luck with your hair growing.

  7. October 20, 2010 12:01 pm

    Nioxin didn’t help me, but I am one of those lucky ones with the fine hair that turns to “female pattern BALDNESS” before the cancer was even a gleam in my eye! It has many helpful qualities though – just the fragrance can be like aroma therapy!

    Good luck with it all!

  8. October 20, 2010 1:34 pm

    Many people I know have said they despaired of their children ever being decent, as they were so horrid as teenagers, and yet these kids have turned out to be wonderful, healthy, and angelic adults. Hang in there my girl.

  9. October 20, 2010 8:20 pm

    I love that you are treating yourself AND I alos am avoiding my son who is still at home – I’m not happy with any of his “choices” right now.

  10. ana permalink
    October 21, 2010 10:41 am

    http://www.amazon.com/Bormioli-Rocco-Ginevra-Platter-Plastic/dp/B000M3FRXA/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1287675610&sr=8-4

    can’t believe the first time I’m commenting is over a cake dome, but I hate to see anyone not find what they’re looking for–here’s what I think you might’ve been looking for, over at Amazon.

    • October 21, 2010 12:29 pm

      Genius! I’m ordering one right away. Thanks Ana!!!!!

      I do believe you were withholding your comments until the right time came along and this was the right time! xox

Leave a Reply

