Skip to content

The Redecorating of the Master Bedroom

October 29, 2010

It’s almost finished. I just need to get the Big Nugget to finish the window trim, purchase some lamps and rugs – and get some artwork on the walls. The bedroom has come a long way. We’ve done nothing to it since we moved in to this house, over 15 years ago.  But after spending too much time recuperating from my bilateral mastectomy and getting through chemo, it was time to change it. So, as is, here you go.

The long wall where the bed goes before:

There was a pale pink and gray striped wallpaper over a bright pink and green wallpaper. I hired someone to strip the wallpaper, which was impossible so he skimcoated and gave me nice white walls instead:

That thing up on the right top corner is a covered return-air vent that is no longer in use. We need to patch and paint it.

This is the dormer window that looks out over the front yard before:

And now:

Here’s the dresser that my grandfather made decades ago, before:

I painted it a pale gray:

A close-up of what’s on top includes the milk glass I just started collecting and an antique wig/hat stand that I sprayed white:

Here’s the window that overlooks the back yard, before:

And here’s the back window now (I’m looking for a new seat cushion):

This is what that dresser on the left of the photo above, looked like before. This is one my dad made:

 

Now it’s a pale gray:

And this is the bookcase that used to be a really dark walnut stain, now it’s a bright turquoise:

Here are the side tables that used to also be stained a really dark stain. I love this chartreuse! My side:

The big Nugget’s side:

And to think, the room’s color scheme came from these curtains I had Floweer make for me:

I’ll be working on the artwork this weekend and show you when it’s done.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 7:55 pm

    This is simply lovely. Can you come to my house and spruce my white walls up? xoxo

  2. October 29, 2010 9:18 pm

    And then come to mine. Nug can bring you. We have icy roads. Just what he likes.

  3. Agent99 permalink
    October 30, 2010 9:45 am

    Kathy, your room is beautiful! The color combo looks very crisp against the white background.

    SO pretty.

    SS

  4. katie permalink
    October 30, 2010 10:28 am

    WOW!! What a great transformation!! Your ambition blows my mind. You’ve been doing all this while working thru all the other issues and it has turned out beautifully. So peaceful and relaxing. You deserve it. Great job.

    I’ve been MIA for way too long but am so happy for you that you have this latest stage behind you and hope for a continued journey to improvement – in all aspects. Tho you don’t like hugs and kisses, here’s some ~ ~ xxoo

  5. October 30, 2010 10:47 am

    I like it! I always liked chartreuse and aqua (or teal) in combination.

    Fifteen years is no record, y’know, though I understand your wanting to change it. We moved in here nearly forty years ago, and Husband filled up the bedroom before I ever got a chance at the walls. (“No, don’t worry about it, you’re pregnant…”) It’s still the same prepainted walls that came with the house.

  6. Diane B permalink
    October 30, 2010 10:51 am

    Good job! Such a happy room.

  7. Floweer permalink
    October 30, 2010 11:34 am

    LOVE IT! I really like the curtains with the clips on them. Might have to do that here hmmmmmmmmm. If you see another wig stand – snatch it up for me. Great earring tree!!!

  8. October 30, 2010 11:57 am

    It’s really nice. I’m such a chicken shit when it comes to choosing colours.

  9. October 30, 2010 1:54 pm

    So pretty. The room looks comfortable and inviting. Good job.

  10. kim birt permalink
    October 30, 2010 5:37 pm

    BEAUTIFUL Kathy… love the colors I think you just inspired me to get my master bedroom done has been sitting lack luster since we did our remodel…. almost 4 years ago… just haven’t been geared up… but now…. thanks for the swift kick… love it!!!

  11. Carol permalink
    October 30, 2010 7:33 pm

    Kathy,
    It looks beautiful! So peaceful looking! You did a great job pulling everything together!

  12. October 30, 2010 10:38 pm

    V.V. Pretty! So relaxing!

  13. yaketyyak permalink
    October 31, 2010 4:14 pm

    Everything looks great – well done!

  14. October 31, 2010 9:37 pm

    Love it!!! I’m sitting here in my bed looking at the exact same dormer “situation” in my room. Sometimes I like the lottle nood – sometimes not. Right now my dormer window is full of plants – jades and african violets – it’s one of the decent “light” windows in my house!

    Kathy, I just love the paint colors and those curtains are so sweet!

  15. November 1, 2010 9:43 pm

    Wow, what a great color scheme! I love how light and airy the room looks. Nice job!!

Leave a Reply

