Skip to content

Today

November 10, 2010

It’s been two weeks  and one day since my scar revision surgery. I’m still swollen, I’m still bruised. But it’s now time to start working toward a better me. So today I will put on my compression glove and sleeve and I will go for a walk. Without that damned dog. I figure that with the scars still at-risk, the last thing I want to do is be dragged up a tree by a 55 lb. dog with an appetite for squirrels. She can continue to hunt in the back yard for the next couple of weeks while I work on myself. I worry that now that the scars go farther back on me, that dog might be able to pull me hard enough to remove my skin, like a sweater. Beast of a hound that I adore.

We had a scare with our older son this past weekend and I was ruthless about him no longer being allowed to stay here. But he’s back home and we’re dealing with it. No judgments, please. We have to do what we have to do. Thanks.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Gretchen permalink
    November 10, 2010 9:20 am

    Probably very smart to not walk the dog until you’re healed. Although I’m pretty sure your skin wouldn’t come off like a sweater! 😉 Good luck with the son.

  2. November 10, 2010 9:56 am

    Sounds like a smart move. Enjoy your dogless walks and have fun. If I was there, I would walk with you!

  3. November 10, 2010 10:07 am

    Yeah Stella is a bit rambunctious for you just yet. As to your son, hang in there. Things will work out the way they will. If I can help at all, let me know.

  4. Leslie permalink
    November 10, 2010 10:34 am

    I wish I lived nearer you or vice versa … would love to go on walks with you. If you’re ever out here in redwood and beach land (north central coast CA) , I will take you on some great treks!

    Every day is a day closer to your son maturing and figuring it out. Hang in there, it eventually gets better!

  5. November 10, 2010 10:38 am

    Do what you have to do and take care of yourself. I love you!

    I’m back to work, and also have a new blog (link above) if you need distraction.

    All I will be able to think of all day is Stella wearing your skin like a sweater while gazing in a mirror saying “Would you walk me? I’D walk me..I’d walk me so hard”

  6. November 10, 2010 11:12 am

    Hi booger – glad you are healing:) love ya oodles and everything will be fine — you always make it that way. Hugs, from Oregon.

  7. November 10, 2010 11:46 am

    Take care of that surgery. That’s the best thing to do

    As for your decision – you are the parent. You make the decisions that you feel are right. In this case, it is probably the best you could do. Sending you strength.

  8. November 10, 2010 12:21 pm

    Children? What else is there to do? You love them best as you can. There’s never only one ‘right’ way or definative answer. ~LA

  9. November 10, 2010 7:22 pm

    What they said! You have smart and lovely readers.

  10. November 11, 2010 6:54 am

    Oh girl, I am on that roller-coaster with you, my oldest child is trying to give me FITS! I haven’t seen my daughter in 4 years. Not my real daughter. I can say “I try not to dwell on it” but those are just words, I’m dwelling the HELL out of it!! I DWELL on it 24/7. But I’m trying NOT to dwell on it. Dwelling is for CHUMPS. LOL! Let’s not be chumps, Kathy. hahhahahhahahahahha oh shit I’m hysterical… I have other kids to care for, so I’m pouring my energies into them… But those are just words too… I hate this ride…

Leave a Reply

