Skip to content

I Know Where Your Money Is

November 18, 2010

My little college roommate, Karen, just commented on my Facebook page with this:

I was just telling someone that before you moved in with me I had lived there a year and never even seen my neighbors… in one day you knew most of them, had eaten with them and knew where they kept their money. 🙂

God. It’s so true. Back then I was such a social butterfly. Unlike now. Where I’m still a social butterfly only I won’t admit to it. Except right there, where I admitted to it.

What’s weird about it is that I’m not the one chatting so much. I know. I talk a lot. But that’s when you know me. I don’t chat it up with strangers. They chat it up with me. People tell me their life stories in grocery store lines. Hell, at Target last night, I got the lowdown on the cashier’s children. “I swear, I can never get away from my children,” the Target cashier said last night. And then this big kid came walking up behind her and said, “Mom, can I use your debit card to get a magazine?”

Seriously. Her kid (I’m guessing he was 18 or older) was hanging out with her at work!

“You weren’t kidding about your kids following you!” I said.

“He’s not even the bad one,” she said, “I’m surprised my daughter’s not standing here right now!”

Wow. Does Target let people’s family members hang out while they work? It was hysterical. She went on to talk about other stuff while she rang up and bagged my stuff.

And you know what? I had a lot of fun talking to her. I liked her take on “My Big Redneck Wedding.” Which probably explains why people are drawn to tell me their stories while standing in line at the grocery store. I really get a kick out of them and I think they know it.

My dad was the same way. Everyone talked to him and he really enjoyed listening to their stories. The difference is that I don’t think strangers ever got his nerves like they sometimes get on mine. I’m Dad, with an edge.

After I got home from Target last night, I got my aluminum Christmas tree decorated. I’ll take some photos later on to share with you. It’s so much fun! Target had chartreuse ornaments and a Christmas tree skirt that were perfect – and relatively inexpensive (the skirt wasn’t but because it was chartreuse, I had to have it.) Anyway, later.

Before I went to Target, I stopped at the store Thing 2 is working at. He’s working at a Brookstone kiosk in a local mall (not The Mall). Lordy, I couldn’t work at a kiosk in a mall! You’re stuck standing around this structure that’s only so big. Smack dab in the middle of an aisle. You and one other employee. And if you don’t like that employee? You’re just stuck. Good thing that Thing 2’s as chatty as I am. When I got there, he and his 50-year-old coworker were playing a 20 questions game. I think they’d had maybe two sales in three hours. The male coworker is incredibly gay and has a large personality, giving Thing 2 a whole new pair of glasses to see life through. He should be able to stay entertained with this guy until the kiosk closes after Christmas.

Alrighty kids, time to take the chatty out of the chair and get to taking pictures of the tree!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 11:33 am

    I can’t wait for the pictures of the tree!! I haven’t seen an aluminum tree in years.

Leave a Reply

