Skip to content

Old Country Crap Buffet

November 21, 2010

The reason I had, the reason I will have, some locked entries is because I don’t want to share everything with everyone. There is enough drama in this house without getting everyone involved. You can ask for the password but I’m being very stingy with giving it out.

My goal is to keep myself together and proceed forward as best as I can. I’ve got places to go, people to see, things to do. I’m just really fed up with the crap buffet I am being forced to partake in. I’ve known for a long time that life isn’t fair. But it seemed to be going pretty well for me. Until the last few years and especially this past year. I’ve had enough of this bullshit and I want no more.

If only it were that easy.

So if I need to vent and feel the need to lock up the entry, that’s what I’ll do. Just thought you’d like to know.

In the portion of my life that I’m grateful for, I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving at my sister’s house. We’ve had to travel to the Big Nugget’s family’s gathering for years and it’s always stressful. I don’t like to sleep anywhere but my own bed and neither do the kids. Also, it’s a “food” holiday and my sister and our family are all about the food. I’m making The Barefoot Contessa’s Roasted Winter Vegetables, Sagaponack Corn Pudding, and a Pumpkin Roll. And that’s just me.

I’m definitely looking forward to Thursday. The crap buffet better be closed.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 7:34 pm

    Eeep! I read that on my tiny phone screen and I thought you said roasted wiener. I love when that happens! Wiener! Wiener!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    November 22, 2010 9:26 am

    Good luck with the crap-free Thanksgiving. This year, I am going for drama-free holidays. I’ve had a hell of a year and things have worked out so the holidays will be low-key for us this year. I think my husband is a little disappointed, but I’m not. Home by ourselves at Thanksgiving, and got wires crossed so there will be no big family gathering at Christmas. For once I am not going to completely freak out trying to make it all work for everybody. For just one season, I officially don’t care. Now watch, it will turn out to be one of those “Oh, if only I had known it would be the last time…. whatever.”

  3. November 22, 2010 9:33 am

    Sounds so good! We’ll see how our Thanksgiving works out. Lots of friction between DIL and Heartburn anyone?

  4. Sue permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:47 am

    Hi Kathy! Wondering if I could have your password? We’re going to my aunt’s for Thanksgiving but I wish we could just stay home and have dinner, just the four of us. My kids really like going to my aunt’s so I guess we’ll go. My kids aren’t really even kids anymore, but I guess I’ll give in and go with everyone to my aunt’s. Here’s to a stress free holiday for you and your family!

  5. November 22, 2010 12:25 pm

    Here’s to a no-crap holiday! Hell, an end-to-the-crap year. We’re not having Thanksgiving this year. I’m bummed, the kids are bummed. Husband said he’ll do steaks. Works for me. Enjoy the food and company.

  6. Laurelie permalink
    November 22, 2010 4:27 pm

    Ditto the first two sentences of Karen’s comment.
    Have you made Ina’s recipe before? Is it worthy of adding to my Christmas meal menu? I’m in Canada…so Thanksgiving for me is very much a far off memory now!

  7. Suzi permalink
    November 23, 2010 9:58 am

    I’ve officially declared my Thanksgiving a no drama zone. Hard to do with 2 14 year old girls and a niece-in-law whose middle name is drama. The best thing about getting older (53!!!!) is that I don’t care if they get pissed 🙂

    I would like to request the password, too. I guess I like other people’s drama to take away from my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

