Skip to content

From Oslo to Des Moines

November 23, 2010

It was time for me to post a post-chemo photo of my hair yesterday but between my mom’s eyeball and a lack of sunshine, I didn’t get around to it. I didn’t get around to it today, either, even though there was sunshine and I had little to do with my mom’s eyeball other than a phone call to see how she was seeing. She’s seeing fine and is looking forward to her next eyeball surgery.

I did take some pictures, though. Bunch of earrings that I’ll be posting later on tonight. And pictures of the paintings I made for our bedroom wall.

Now, I’m no artist. I hate painting and I hate drawing. But that didn’t stop me. I want stuff for my walls but I want to pay little to nothing for it. One of the canvases I painted on I’d bought at a garage sale years ago. The other one I got, using a 40% off coupon at Michaels. And the acrylic paint was cheap.

This is the view from our bed:

This is the places that the Big Nugget and I went to when we first started to date.

And this one is the cities we’ve gone to together. I missed a few. Totally blew off both of the Grand Rapids – Michigan & Minnesota. Forgot about Florida. And I know there’s more but it was a small canvas.

I used Poster Paint markers to write the words. I have to tell you, my favorite part of this one is Oslo being next to Des Moines. And below that is Brugge next to Bemidji. I am a world traveler but then again I am not.

I’m only mildly pleased with these but they were the right colors so there you have it.

Next I’ll be painting a series of crows. I can’t explain it more than that. You’ll just have to be very patient with me.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 6:33 pm

    Do you still drink red wine?

  2. November 23, 2010 7:15 pm

    I like your art!

  3. Gretchen permalink
    November 24, 2010 9:09 am

    You are definitely an artist – it’s not about whether you think you’re “good” or not, it’s about how it turns out. And those turned out great!

    • November 24, 2010 9:53 am

      I’ll become “The Artist Who Hates Her Own Work!” Coming to a gallery near nobody.

  4. November 24, 2010 9:41 am

    Those are great – I love the colors! And now I need to know where Raleigh’s Ribs is located…

    • November 24, 2010 9:52 am

      Oh my dear Pickles & Dimes – Raleigh’s Ribs is no longer there. It’s in the Itasca Building (708 N. 1st St.) where the Big Nugget and I lived before we got married (scandalous!) The Acme Comedy Club is still there and there’s a new bar where the Basset Creek Saloon was. Raleigh’s was fantastic! Sorry!

  5. November 24, 2010 9:44 am

    Thanks for the nice comment…it was the sweetest nicest comment ever. And I love your pictures also…perfect for your bedroom, very loving and sentimental.

  6. Diane B permalink
    November 29, 2010 3:41 am

    So cute! I’m totally going to copy these (with my own crap, of course!)

Leave a Reply

