Skip to content

Call the ASPCA!

December 1, 2010

I finally got around to going outside and getting a picture of my hair. But before I did that, I did this:

I’ll title this one, “Oh, the humanity!”

And this one:

I call, “Smiling on the Outside.”

Finally, this one:

“Perp Walk.” This is supposedly a “Mrs. Claus” doggy costume, but the minute I saw it I thought it was not. It’s either an ice skating costume or “Mrs. Claus, The Hooker.”

I got this for her and a reindeer costume, complete with antlers and red nose but she’ll have none of that. Well, she wants it. In a bad way. But she wants to eat it, not wear it. For some reason, she was much more content to let me put this on her and then actually keep it on for about a half hour.

As long as she knew I’d give her a Milkbone dog biscuit. I don’t give her doggy treats except for her Greenies teeth cleaner at bedtime. So to get some unhealthy snacks in the middle of the day? I bet I could get that reindeer costume on her now. I forgot to use the biscuits when I was putting that on because I was too damned busy wrestling with her.

This is what I spent part of my kiln-earnings on. The Big Nugget told me he has less respect for me after this purchase. But he’s had less respect for me since I became a fan of The Real Housewives Of series and Hoarders.  Too late to class up  my act.

And now, the hair.

Five months and two weeks post-chemo, this is what I have:

And that, my curious friends, is the only picture I have. It was cold out there AND the Big Nugget had a Craiglist customer in the garage, which is in view of the patio. I figured that if the Big Nugget was in their getting murdered and I was so vulnerably standing on the patio, it was going to be my turn to be murdered next.

Yes. I really did think along those lines.

My hair has some definitely thin parts but I think I’m still seeing growth? No? Yes? I figure I’ll just keep growing it out and do the Donald Trump combover, if I have to.

By the way? The sweatshirt I’m wearing? I haven’t been able to zip that thing up for the past year or so. But now, after the chemo weight loss, the scar revision surgery and the two pounds of weight loss since yesterday (actually, 3 pounds of weight loss since yesterday – I didn’t want you to think I’d gone anorexic on you) I could not only zip that sucker up, it fits very nicely.

And my teeth? Those are now one week whiter. I’m very happy with them and plan on going for a few more days with my whitening trays.

Edited: I was just looking at my other post-chemo hair photos.

2 months after chemo:

Can you believe I ran around looking like this? I mean, c’mon! Look at those yellow teeth!!!!

3 months after chemo:

4 months after chemo:

I can see that it is actually getting longer and thicker. It’s just definitely not getting curlier.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 4:56 pm

    Lookin’ good – you AND Stella Mira!

  2. December 1, 2010 5:49 pm

    Wow – what a big difference between months 4 and 5! Before you know it, you’ll be scheduling a haircut.

    P.S. Your glasses are super cute!

    P.P.S. Stella is adorable.

  3. Lori in Houston permalink
    December 1, 2010 6:27 pm

    I remember when my hair was coming back in – in the days before roostered up was in fashion – and I used to put on a ski cap so it would dry flat to my head. I think you look absolutely wonderful with your hair that short!

  4. dan permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:21 pm

    poor dog how embarassing hair looks great love ya kid

  5. December 1, 2010 9:45 pm

    Your hair is coming in great…now get the hell back in the house – it looks too damn cold out there!!!!!!!!

  6. December 1, 2010 11:22 pm

    Your hair is still too short to be curly. Hope remains!
    -Signed, your straight-haired friend

  7. December 2, 2010 12:44 am

    Your hair is long enough now that it looks like you mean it to be that way. If I saw you on the street, I’d think, “Cool! I wish I had the nerve to do that! She’s really carrying it off!” True.

  8. December 2, 2010 12:47 am

    De-lurking to say you look great! I read faithfully but never seem to have anything to say beyond “good luck,” “keeping you in my prayers,” or “sending you good thoughts.” Which probably gets boring for you and makes me sound lamer than usual.

    Anyway, sending you (and now, poor Stella and her obvious lack of appreciation for high fashion) good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

