Skip to content

Hair Product

December 2, 2010

Lori – your comment the other day about you putting on a hat to flatten out your post-chemo duck fluff hair got me to thinking. What would happen if I used some hair product. And so this morning I pulled out the very neglected bottle of Aveda’s Confixor hair gel and I went to styling. I used the tiniest smidgen of the gel because I didn’t want to come out looking like a greaser from The Outsiders.

Not a problem. Probably wouldn’t have been a problem even if I’d used the entire bottle of Confixor. Which, by the way, is mostly full because I must have just bought it before my diagnosis. Stupid cancer.

It is way too cold for precious me to take photos outside. Besides, the neighbor guy is coming over to cut down our broken weeping willow and I am a dork, but not that much of a dork that I want to be taking photos of myself in front of him.

I like how I pretend he can’t see me when I’m out there even though their house looms over our back yard and I’m sure he can see just about everything that goes on back there. Which is why I don’t mow the lawn naked.

I’m kidding. I don’t mow the lawn.

So I took this one inside and people, you get what you get when you’ve got a cheap point and click digital camera and the skills to not know how to use it well:

I smooshed it to the right. Because that’s the direction in which I have always smooshed it and I’ve had just about enough of changes in my life I not about to smoosh left anytime soon.

Here’s another view so you can see the thin-ness of my hair:

It’s not that bad. But for your viewing pleasure (and that of everyone who stands behind me in line, too closely) here is an extreme close-up of the back of my head. Which is not an easy photo to take but hey, I’m just showing off my post-mastectomy arm stretching skills:

Maybe that’s not so much back of my head as it is, back top of my head. I don’t know. I just think it would be a lesson learned for anyone standing behind me in line who doesn’t know about invasion of my private space. Back that thang up if you don’t want to look at my pink scalp.

This makes me wonder, how did I run around bald-headed for months when I’m this sensitive about my hair at this point of the game?

Oh. I know. I had this attitude: I have cancer. I had chemo. My hair fell out. I’m not comfortable wearing a wig. Even less comfortable in scarves. I only want to wear a baseball-type cap when I feel like it. I don’t have to look at. You do. You don’t like it? Say something to me. I’ve got a lot of frustration to vent on strangers dumb enough to comment.

What I learned from my bald days is that absolutely nobody stared at me. The only comments I got were from the grocery store clerks that I see multiple times a week and they were always so sweet.

Okay kids, I gotta fly. And then I gotta come home and post some pictures that I took at Thanksgiving. God, we make great food!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lori in Houston permalink
    December 2, 2010 4:22 pm

    So who was it that said you can’t change it up when you have short hair? Pbbt to them! Love it! (And you should try smooshing it to the left. Who knows? It could be a brand new you!)

  2. Vonnie permalink
    December 4, 2010 8:27 am

    I think you should henna your hair.
    http://www.hennaforhair.com/
    Some really great stuff on this website. And, the henna will stain your scalp brown, giving the illusion of thicker hair!

  3. Laurelie permalink
    December 4, 2010 11:24 pm

    I’m sorry, I have no great comments about the hair because I’m all about the food! I made the winter roasted vegetables today and they were fantastic…using the leftovers for the soup like Ina suggests. I also made the corn pudding, but I think I screwed up trying to be all “organized” and mixing it up the night before. The cornmeal kind of settled on the bottom and it took foooooooooooooorever to fully cook. However, that being said it tasted really good and I will make it again, just in a much shallower pan!

Leave a Reply

