Skip to content

Something Eddie This Way Comes

December 4, 2010

I was a little concerned about having a new boarder in the house. The last time we had someone stay with us, it didn’t go very well. Actually, that’s when The Big Nugget got his name. It was a family member of his and I’d had it with our tenant and said, “That’s it! I want no part of your family anymore. I’m changing my name back to ‘my maiden name'”

“Me, too,” he said, “But not your family’s name. I’m going to have a brand new name. ‘Ricky Nugget’ rhymes with ‘toupee'”. And so he became.

I’m glad that we’ve patched up with the former boarder. I can’t figure out what in the hell went wrong with it in the first place. I get along with people pretty well and am a generous host. So very weird.

Eddie’s been here almost a week and he’s added so much fun to the house. We haven’t had this much fun in our house for years. I can get past the toilet seat he keeps forgetting to put down.

Last night, Thing 1 was out with his new friend (hurray for new friends for him!) and I was about to start making dough for butter cookies, while watching a movie. But Thing 2 and Eddie decided that we were going to play Apples to Apples, and Pictionary. The Big Nugget, too. We couldn’t say no. They would have refused to accept it.

So we spent the next three or four hours playing game after game.

I don’t know what’s happened to me, The Big Nugget said it’s because I’m old, but I now suck at both Apples to Apples and Pictionary. I used to rule the board game world! Or it could have been that Thing 2 and Eddie are like twins so can guess each other’s stuff as though it were their own.

Freaks.

When we heard that Eddie needed to stay a place, it was funny how both The Big Nugget and I said yes. We must have intuited the added family value.

This afternoon I put a white board into the entranceway of Eddie’s room. I can’t wait to see what these two come up with. Once they’ve rested from all the furniture-moving I’ve made them do.

The End

p.s. Jean – I got the ornament that you sent me in the mail today. It’s perfect! I’ll be getting some photos soon. Thank you! I’m looking forward to hearing how your pre-Christmas party goes this year. Share recipes!

Ooh! That reminds me – this is not the end.

I’ve been so thankful for my family and friends who helped me through my cancer and other family stuff going on that I neglected to mention the special people who also helped me get through it all…my blog friends.

A few of you I’ve met in real life (hi akk! lap! Carrie! Lena! Jean! Diane! Jenn!) but most of you I haven’t met (yet). But you were so important to me through this year. The cards, the e-mails, the packages, the flowers. Each time I opened my mail, my e-mail, my door – and you’d taken the time to send a little of yourself my way – I smiled and was incredibly grateful. You guys really got a lot of my grief spelled out before you. I couldn’t do that in person oftentimes. It was so nice to get it off of my chest and know that you guys really cared. I thank you thank you thank you!

Here’s to a better 2011 for all of us and hopefully I’ll get to meet more of you! (Kate! Let’s meet at Joan’s in Winnipeg!)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 10:10 pm

    Paulina really wanted to get you a “FUCK CANCER” crosstitch pattern today, but I said no because I wanted there to be a “FUCK LYPHEDEMA” pattern too, for a two-sided pillow…

  2. December 5, 2010 2:02 pm

    Glad your new boarder is working out. Sorry you need game practice.

  3. December 5, 2010 9:09 pm

    Do you think Joan would have us? Maybe we can be her housewarming party.

  4. Niki Hawkins permalink
    December 6, 2010 11:05 am

    I want you to know that even though I rarely speak up, I read every post that you write and you are an inspiration to me. It’s wonderful that Thing 2 and Eddie are making you laugh. You deserve it.

  5. December 6, 2010 12:35 pm

    By then I will have been moved to a undisclosed location…as part as the witness protection program. My trickery days are over.

    Actually Kate it would be fun to meet her, I’m sure we could take her.

Leave a Reply

