Skip to content

But Baby It’s Cold Outside

December 8, 2010

It’s so damn cold around here. 10 degrees (fahrenheit) And there’s even colder, wetter weather headed our way for tomorrow. I am very happy that I have a variety of winter coats in different winter weights.

The Big Nugget is insane. He went out tonight for the annual John Lennon Tribute at First Avenue. He not only found a friend to go with him, the two of them headed out in the ’66 Land  Rover. They were probably frozen solid before they crossed the Minneapolis border. I’ll just sit here and try to stay warm until the police knock on my door with the popsicle news.

I’m going out tomorrow night for book club and the ornament exchange party. I don’t want to go out tomorrow night. I don’t mind going out in the day when it’s this cold but when night falls, it’s unbearable. But I’ll go out because I’m happy to be back and book club and it’s worth the risk.

I just found out that Ben Folds will be playing at First Avenue on January 23rd. And I’m really considering not going. Dude. I don’t want to go out at night in a Minnesota winter. January 23rd? That’s guaranteed to be a frozen night.

I know. I’m old. I didn’t worry about this kind of thing when I was a teenager and when I was in my 20s.

Time to go put on my flannel pajamies.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. mommylap permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:47 am

    I was at First Avenue too. I left at 10 because it was too crowded and I couldn’t stand up anymore. I took the bus home, which was cold.

  2. December 9, 2010 9:22 am

    Love the snow that drifts down into your entry! So creative!

  3. December 9, 2010 10:02 am

    Heh. You probably wouldn’t even have worn a coat when you were in your twenties. I understand, though.. it’s so much colder in the dark~!

  4. Leslie permalink
    December 9, 2010 11:03 am

    I grew up in the midwest – rural Illinois to be exact – and I remember all too well the relentless cold and blowing snow. As soon as I could, I moved myself to a more sane climate. Now I think it’s absolutely freezing when the temperature drops into the 30s at night, or doesn’t get out of the 60s during the day.

  5. Niki Hawkins permalink
    December 9, 2010 3:54 pm

    Don’t go on January 23rd. Guaranteed it will be a sheet of ice.

  6. December 9, 2010 4:02 pm

    I’ve noticed great change in my own cold tolerance of late, suddenly I’m all up in my fuzzy slippers and my 3 layers of shirt/sweater/hoodie… last night I was sitting at the the table wrapped in my son’s Snuggie, it’s camel-colored, he said, MOM, you look like a Jedi! AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

