Skip to content

We’re Going to do our Best not to Freak Out, We’re Not Going to Even Comment About This

December 10, 2010

I’m going to put this here and then I’m going to walk away from it until Tuesday morning.

I’ve got a couple of weird patches on my face. On both sides, above my jaw and under my cheeks. The right side got really weird during my chemo, dried up and fell off. The left side has been the same for a long time so not too much to worry about there. But that right side is starting to get more patchy looking and I am not happy about this at all.

So I called my dermatologist’s office (the one who’d removed a pre-cancerous patch from my left temple a few years ago) and begged to get her first appointment – which is not until next Friday. So I begged some more and got myself an appointment on Tuesday morning with one of her partners. Then I googled him (hello!) and found out that his area of interest is skin cancer, which my dermatologist’s is not.

I assume I’m going to go in and he’s going to say, what with all of his cancerous specialness, “That’s an old lady skin issue, not to worry.”

However, you and me, we’ve been down this road before and nobody’s going to breathe a sigh of relief until he actually says that.

Stupid cancer. I’m going to freak out about everything I come across on this traitor body I own.

***

I went out last night and did not freeze my kiester off. Because it was over 20 degrees. Heatwave!

I’m going out tonight but we’ve got a mini-blizzard headed our way, with dropping temperatures.

And then I will not go out again, during the dark hours, until the middle of March.

Mark my words.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 11:44 am

    Hope it’s nothing serious, Kath. You’ve already had your share.

  2. Lena permalink
    December 10, 2010 11:57 am

    Had a patch taken off my upper arm last week. Unfortunately the pathologist says it’s pre-cancer and has to be watched. And just for your info – the mini blizzard has already hit here – although no wind yet. Just HEAVY snow – wind is coming tonight.

  3. katie permalink
    December 10, 2010 2:39 pm

    Wanna bet?……you’re not going out in the dark til March? Wanna bet?

    Here’s to ‘old lady skin’ – and looking for a good report on Wednesday!

  4. December 11, 2010 7:30 pm

    I get those all the time myself. Look up actinic keratosis on the googles. They are considered “pre-cancerous” because about 1 in 1000 turn cancerous. It’s from being our age and having lots of sun exposure back in the day, before we knew better. The doc will probably freeze it and that will be that. I’ve had a couple of biopsies because things looked ugly, but so far, they’ve been benign. Yours probably will be benign too. (Oh, and even if the worst happened and they were positive? The treatment is the same. Freeze ’em and that’s it.). You’re gonna be fabulous!

Leave a Reply

