Skip to content

Kitschin Logic’s Big Snow Adventure

December 12, 2010

With two feet of snow headed in our direction, I was happy that nobody had to go out. Neither of my kids were scheduled to work. So I hung out on facebook and baked more cookies. In my kitchen. There is no kitchen on facebook. Yet. I need to call Mark Zuckerberg. I’ve got an idea for him!

Part of the facebook hanging out was me going on and on and on about my secret project with denture cream. Oh, I was just sure it was going to be the best secret project, ever!

The phone rang and it was Judy Beauty, from across the street. She and her husband were going to take her son’s very large truck down to the grocery store, would I be needing any denture cream?

Of course I would! What a mind reader! Or facebook reader. But I wasn’t going to let her  have all the fun and adventure, I invited myself along for the ride!

Here’s Judy Beauty’s husband – our driver:

Here’s Judy Beauty aka Nanook of Bloomington:

The grocery store was hopping! What a bunch of crazy people! There was a little old couple in front of me that I think was part of the cars we saw stuck in the snowbank after we left.

Here are the very important items we risked our lives for. Butter pretzels that I’m dipping in almond bark are an essential blizzard survival food!

Here we are, sitting warmly in the truck while Mr. Judy Beauty was outside of it, trying to remove snow from the windshield so he could safely deliver us back home. I am never going anywhere with Judy Beauty, sans makeup, ever again! It’s like I’m the before in our before and after photo! I’m just glad my teeth are whiter than they were a few weeks ago or there would have been some serious depression going on after I saw this photo of the me and Mrs. Beauty!

And here is my secret project, with denture cream:

I’d been online, looking for inexpensive cake tiers to use for setting a nice table. But the thing about cake tiers is that they are big/tall and don’t store well. Who wants to take up that much space for something you don’t use that often. Unless you are one of those cupcake junkies. Which I am not.

Am not.

Most definitely not.

And even though I seem to be protesting too much, I am not.

I said to The Big Nugget, “I wonder if there’s a temporary glue out there that I could use to put glasses and plates together and make temporary cake tiers?” When it dawned on me, denture cream.

Wouldn’t it be cool if we could figure out how my mind works?

Unfortunately, it the denture cream didn’t work like I’d hoped it would. It works well enough to keep the plate from sliding around, if you bump it (and my guests are always bumping stuff with their greedy mitts!) but you can’t pick it up by the plate and move it, like you can one of those cake tiers. You can pick it up by the base and the plate stays in place so I think I have some success. I just need to find a better, temporary glue to have true success.

Wanna see a good girl who makes sure I do things right. Here she is, Stella Mirra, Quality Control:

If only I would walk away, for just a second, she could check the denture cream theory AND the taste of those buckeyes!

With over 18″ of snow in our back yard, she’s needing extra food because she’s burning off all sorts of calories hopping through the snow.

Speaking of snow and the fact that we had so much, snow plows were pulled off the streets…guess who’s kids went out? That would be me – and all three of my kids. Now that I have three.

And guess who’s phone rang at 2 a.m. because one of their cars stopped working enroute to pick up one of them while the other was in his car, who knows where? That would be our phone. Poor Ricky Nugget. But thank god for that Land Rover he bought because he was able to pull the Infinity home safely. Even more thankful is the fact that Thing 2, who had lost his cell phone when he’d gone sledding earlier in the evening,  taken his father’s cell phone with him. Otherwise, I don’t know what could have happened to my baby!

It’s going to be a very long winter.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 1:17 pm

    I love the picture of the dog staring at the cookies!

    Here in earthquake country, there’s something you can buy to fix your breakables to the surface they’re sitting on, so they don’t fall off when things start shaking. I don’t use it (no breakables out) but I know my mom does. Google museum wax. I bet that would do the trick for you.

  2. Floweer permalink
    December 12, 2010 3:36 pm

    YOU made my day. Thanks.

  3. December 12, 2010 6:50 pm

    wow, u had me at the mystery and the results are actually pretty good. What about creating a tiered effect with a series of plates?

  4. December 13, 2010 3:37 am

    That Stella Mirra has more self control than I do.

  5. jeanniekay permalink
    December 13, 2010 11:40 am

    Hey! I do something like this every year at the “Dinner Party”. I set up an hor doerve table and put stuff under the tablecloth to create different levels. I use coffee cans, upside down cake pans stacked, a mason jar with a plate on top of it, stuff like that. I use duct tape to hold it all together then use the duct tape (rolled into a loop) to artfully arrange folds in the table cloth on the table. Pretty cool! I’ll post a picture after this Saturday!

    You sound so good, Kathy. That’s the best present of all!!!!

Leave a Reply

