Skip to content

The Fool’s Phone on the Hill

December 13, 2010

It was a fine, sunny day for running errands this morning. And the frigid cold has kept the old people at home, for the most part, making the lines at the post office and bank really short.

This 18+ inches snowfall is what Minnesota used to be like every winter. But the last decade or so we’ve had really lame snowfalls. Saturday’s snow was just what this state needed so that we could get our Winter Pride back. You can’t have the winter pride without suffering through the Minnesota winter. We’re all going to get our badges come springtime. I think the old people (you know, people way older than me, by at least 3 years) quit moving to Arizona because our winters were so mild. This winter should thin that herd out again.

My youngest son, the fool who went out on Saturday night during the storm, losing his cellphone? Last night (I don’t know why none of this stuff can happen during the daytime, when it’s more common sensical) he and Buddy Eddie decided to drive over to the sledding hill, looking for the lost cell phone he’d lost the night before. At night. In the dark. With a temp of about 1 degree, wind factor not factored in.

“Why didn’t you go during the day?” I asked.

“Mom! Don’t worry about it,” he replied.

So he and Buddy Eddie headed out in my car because 1) Thing 2’s car is in need of an alternator and 2) Buddy Eddie had no gas in his car at the time. Hey, I actually had a 1) and a 2) this time!

About 15 minutes after they left, they returned. I assumed because they figured their efforts for looking for a cell phone on a dark winter, after a snowstorm, in frigid temps, was futile.

“Found it!” cheered Thing 2 as he came into the kitchen.

“No you didn’t,” I replied.

And then he showed it to me. Apparently it was better to hunt for the thing in the dark of night because when they got out of the car, they could see the low battery light blinking.

And that, my friends, is a damn fine spot of luck.

Last night I proclaimed that I was done with baking for the holiday season. Even though I still have the ingredients to make about a dozen more varieties of cookies and bars. I am done! I have be done! Because 1) It’s too hard to stick to Weight Watchers when I’m baking. Once I put it out on the porch (Minnesota’s free walk-in freezer!) I forget about it. But while I’m baking, I’m constantly tasting the dough. And I can’t let them cool without helping myself; 2) Crap! I don’t have a #2 again! Why won’t I edit?

Until I get trust myself to stay out of the dough and out of the fresh-from-the-oven cookies, I’m going to quit baking. We’ve got enough on the porch to get us through the end of the month, even with visitors. And although I really want to try the peppermint cream bars, the melting pumpkin cookies and make another batch of Red Velvet Whoopie Pies, I’m going to step away from the baking!

I am!

Yes! I am!

Dammit!

I am!

Reader Jean commented on my sounding better these days. She’s got that right. I’m feeling so much better. I’ve still got the lymphedema, will probably always have they lymphedema but for right now I’m okay with that piece of crap I was dealt. I’ve been so busy having so much fun lately that I often forget I have it. I’m just glad to have that evil cancer shit behind me. I have my next appointment with the oncologist at the end of this month but I’m not feeling too emotional about it.

Reader Lisa got me to stop freaking out about the thing on my face when she mentioned I google actinic keratosis. And I did. And the photos and the description pretty much sum up what I’m seeing on my own face. Unfortunately, they’ll probably freeze it off, like the one was done on my temple a few years ago. It won’t hurt (much) but it will be incredibly ugly over the holidays. But hey, I’m not going to complain as long as it doesn’t kill me.

Today I get my eyes checked. They’d gotten worse with the chemo. But when I asked my mom’s eye doctor if that could happen, he said that it was highly unlikely. I have an appointment with an ophthalmologist this afternoon so we’ll just see about that.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 2:11 pm

    My oncologist suggested my diabetes might be at fault when vision got worse. (That was highly unlikely because my diabetes had been under control for years. There is no diabetic damage in my eyes.)

    So eye doctors laugh it off. (I had one like that.) But my regular eye doctor said he sees it all the time: if the patient had mild cataracts, the chemo seems to make them grow faster. When my eyesight got worse from January to May, I went back to the eye doctor and said, Now look! This is serious.” I was seen by a cataract surgeon as well as a retinologist before they drew up a plan of action. Nobody did anything stupid — not me or the doctors — but you will note that I can read again.

    As far as that other eye doctor, pblecchh!

  2. December 13, 2010 2:12 pm

    That second paragraph was supposed to begin “some eye doctors…” I thought I edited.

  3. Niki Hawkins permalink
    December 13, 2010 2:18 pm

    You really do sound so much happier. You make me smile.

  4. Beth permalink
    December 13, 2010 5:24 pm

    Things sound positive for you lately and that is always a welcome plus. I think, and it is only my opinion mind you that Thing 2 is a genious for finding his blinking cell phone in the dark! and in the snow! The things kids learn these days is awesome.

    Winter is upon you guys this year. At least you have an outside walk in freezer. I only have a slightly colder than my fridge cooler this year.
    I am at my sisters and we worked out the final draft of our menu today for our family holiday dinner this year and I have stolen some of your wonderful reciepes. Now I have to go and find the peppermint cream bars and that is it for me. I am not looking at another receipe or even think of baking it. Baked goods are my gifts this holiday. I have made and mixed and jarred everything from chocolate cinnamon cocoa, to making several loaves of Gum Drop bread. The last I am doing is cookies and candy but that is for the kiddo’s so I will go the extra mile for them.
    Great to see and hear you happy Kathy. You take care alright and have a wonderful holiday and let us know what the eye dr. says…. hugs Beth

  5. December 13, 2010 9:41 pm

    Okay, what happened to the link to your recipe blog? I need some ideas for a fancy supper, but I want dishes that can be prepared in advance so I can sip and visit when they get here, and just pull hot things out of the oven. Got any of those?

  6. December 14, 2010 1:30 am

    I have that actinic keratosis all over my forehead, it’s very annoying. The dermatologist shakes her head and talks about sun damage. I grew up in Seattle, what on earth are you talking about!!! Regardless, she’s frozen/burned it off twice, and I look like I’ve been in a car wreck, but then it stays gone for over a year, so I guess it’s worth it. I am due for another visit, and have been putting it off.

  7. jeanniekay permalink
    December 14, 2010 10:56 am

    Hey, couldn’t you just freeze it off yourself by standing outside in your lovely weather, all bundled up except for the cruddy spot on your face for oh, say, 20 minutes or so?

    Heh.

Leave a Reply

