Skip to content

2011: The Year of Soup

December 15, 2010

You might not remember this but back in 2009 I’d proclaimed that 2010 was going to be the year of Creme Brulee. But then I got that stupid cancer and it was not a good year for creme brulee. I haven’t even made any yet. However, I plan on making some on Christmas Eve. While my sister is over. Making it for me.

She doesn’t know about this creme brulee plan yet. She’ll find out soon enough on Christmas Eve when I hand her all of the ingredients, the ramekins and the torch. That’s what big sisters are for. So that little sisters can boss them around. And steal their clothing when they’re not looking, wear it, wash it, shrink it and pretend she had nothing to do with it.

Am I right?

Payback for all those times she used to make me turn off the bedroom light and then scare the crap out of me with her “Watch out for the monsters under the bed!” Is it any wonder that I can’t watch those Chuckie movies? Before they even came out, I was afraid of leaning against the door to keep it closed from a bad guy because I just knew they’d poke my heels with a sharp knife under the door.

Had she known then that I could torment her forever after with “What’s it like to be as old as you are?” she might not have been such a mean big sister.

Anyhoodle. I’m not going to proclaim 2011 the year of creme brulee because it’s just too late. Instead I’m going to proclaim that 2011 is The Year of Soup!

And I think this should involve all of you. Do you have any soup recipes you’d be willing to share with me? I’ll give them a try and if I like them, I’ll put them on my family’s cooking website and maybe I’ll even give you the credit! I know! How generous of me!

E-mail your soup recipes to me: kathy@kitschinart.com Let me know if it’s okay to link back to your blog. If you don’t have a blog, how would you like me to give you the credit? Just your name? Want to include your photo? Let me know!

Soup, it’s so danged good for us and we all need to have a healthier year in 2011. Every last one of us!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 5:11 pm

    Everything listed under the “soup/stew” category on World Famous Nosh! 😀

    • December 15, 2010 5:16 pm

      Tiffany! Those look fantastic – what a great bunch of soups and stews. I’ll be trying most of them!

      Thank you – Kathy

  2. Beth permalink
    December 15, 2010 6:46 pm

    Do you have any soup preferances? I have a great Black Bean soup that is really good. I don’t know if you like Black Beans or not. Also I have from memory and some of my own adjustments to some Southern Soups, but some of them involve Cabbage and lots of people do not like cabbage. If you do I will send you what I have.

Leave a Reply

