Skip to content

I’ll Be The Roundabout

December 21, 2010

It’s so interesting how differently we all react to stuff. I so appreciate that other women who’ve been down this road offer up their opinion in my comments. We’re all learning! Maybe the fact that I’m such an extrovert leads me to want to talk about my cancer. Some times. Some times I don’t want to. But mostly, when I run into acquaintances, it feels like a very heavy elephant in the room. Maybe I’ll get over that when I get my frickin’ hair back!

By the way, 6 mos. post-chemo and I still have nothing curly nor thick.

Liars!

(Jane – sorry about the port thing. I had no idea it would be the most vicious scar of all!)

Now my husband, he doesn’t want to talk about stuff. Which is why he probably wouldn’t want me to tell you that he had outpatient surgery this very morning and is now hopped up on Percocet and recuperating right before my very eyes.

So, let’s bring the attention back to me. Thanks.

You know how I have told you in the past how I’m connected to just about everyone on the planet by less degrees than Kevin Bacon?

Today, while I was waiting at the hospital for The Big Nugget to wake up from surgery (he takes forEVER to wake up from general anesthesia!) I went to fetch a latte from the hospital’s coffee shop.

Somebody was in front of me when a woman came up behind me, and said, “You should get the white chocolate mocha with raspberry! It’s delicious!”

Alrighty. Didn’t ask, but thanks for the tip.

“I have to pass on the sweet stuff,” I replied, “I’ve had way too many holiday cookies this week.”

“Oh! I made these great bars with rice krispies and caramels! You should try them!” she said.

“Where’d you get the recipe from?” I asked, as if I cared. But I didn’t. Didn’t stop me from asking though.

“The Red Wing Shoe Company Cook Book,” she answered.

“I was born in Red Wing. Are you from there?” I asked.

“Born and raised!” she replied.

So I asked her if she knew my cousins and not only did she know them, her husband does my cousin, Jeff’s taxes; and she spoke at Jeff’s wife’s brother’s funeral a couple of months ago.”

I didn’t know that my cousin’s wife’s brother died. Good to know.

Very roundabout way to learn about Lynn’s brother.

Welcome to my roundabout world!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 3:13 pm

    It won’t make you feel any better but, six years out of chemo and radiation, I still have rotten hair. It’s transparent, it’s wispy, it’s itchy. I’m considering shaving my head and going back to the wig. And when will my eyebrows fill in?

    • December 21, 2010 3:19 pm

      Stupid eyebrows! Mine mostly fell out when I was weeks done with chemo and now? Sparse! Who are these fictitious people with the thicker and curlier hair that people were always telling me about? They always seemed to be somebody’s sister’s sister-in-law or the mail carrier’s aunt’s grandma’s hairdresser’s niece!

  2. December 21, 2010 10:00 pm

    I love roundabout stories. You did good. Go kiss Mr. Nugget on the forehead for me. Unless he had surgery there.

Leave a Reply

