Skip to content

Johnny B Sayin’ Hello

February 1, 2010

I dreamt last night that The Big Nugget’s friend, Johnny B, came to see me.

He was a high school friend of The Big Nugget who was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma when he was about 19. He had a bone marrow transplant some time later on and lived for another dozen-ish years until he died after surgery that wasn’t related to Hodgkin’s. Just a few years ago.

So in my short dream, Johnny B asked me if we could be friends. I told him that I thought we already were. He gave me a big hug. So big, it hurt.

I have no idea what that means and I’m not sure that I want dead people visiting me at night. 

I do appreciate that Johnny B was wearing my favorite kind of man apparel – a black turtleneck ala Michael Keaton as Bruce Wayne in Batman.

Yesterday my mom, sister and little sister-in-law showed up, like a tornado, and cleaned my house. It was overwhelming and it was awesome.

My little brother and little sister-in-law brought me a Big Bowl ginger soda, some roses, and ham with cheesy potatoes for me and the family. I felt so guilty about all that they did for me. And then I remembered, again, (I keep forgetting) that I have stupid breast cancer so it’s okay for me to accept these things.

I’m planning on laying low today and tomorrow. I’m on the verge of getting a cold, I can feel it in my post-nasal-drippy self and the last thing I want is to have to postpone surgery and have the stupid cancer in me any longer.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 10:32 am

    I dreamt last night that you and bluesleepy came to visit me! We had a blast!!

  2. Leslie permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:46 am

    Thinking of you – sending good thoughts and wishes your way every day.

  3. poolagirl permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:47 am

    The candle is burning, dear one.

  4. February 1, 2010 11:23 am

    Dreams are kind of funny aren’t they? I have a friend who swears by her dreams. I always dream I am somewhere and then I realize I am naked. Man it’s cold and scary. I think it’s wonderful that your family is supporting you like they are — it really is wonderful.

    It’s pouring down rain here and I am sitting here by the phone like a long lost teenager waiting a boy to call — the radiologist is supposed to call today to tell me they either sent a letter with the all clear sign or I need to come back for more films.

    Have a great day Kathy!

  5. February 1, 2010 1:26 pm

    ok, I’m trying to keep my pledge to comment EVERY time you comment so you’ll have to check out your comments when the computer goes ding and during those seconds your brain will veer from DISEASE to WHATS THIS….I got nothing to say today, Jet (10 months officially) is down and I’m trying to do some newspaper work…Hey, you want goofy postcards? One of my little missions is to send out postcards to those in combat zones (my son’s godfather, and the son of a classmate at West Point, heh). I can’t find snailymail address so if you send to sally@moonsigns.net, I’ll start a little campaign of Ironic Good Cheer from New England. Believe me, you want to get postcards from me. And yes I’m doing this b/c you are in a Combat Zone and need fullstaff support. whatsay kathththty?

  6. February 1, 2010 1:33 pm

    Just found your heard about your cancer and found your blog. I am a three year survivor myself. Keep up your spirits! Welcome to the rest of us survivors.

  7. Suzi permalink
    February 1, 2010 1:46 pm

    Just remember when people do things for you….you would be doing it for them if the tables were turned. In other words….stop feeling guilty and just say thank you 🙂

  8. February 1, 2010 4:37 pm

    i’m getting ready for the group grope!

    can i be the person who hands you an wet washcloth and a glass of ice water after you are sick? your own watergirl, if you will. i guess i can scrub down the bathroom for you and spray some pinefresh too.

  9. Rosie permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:39 pm

    I like that idea of sending you postcards. Cheeky ones. I think I even have your address around, so HA! You are going to start getting cheeky postcards from me! Bwah-hah-hah!

  10. Floweer permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:23 pm

    You are amazing. Great attitude. I am cheering for you – and await my watermelon buying/cutting/not seeding orders.

  11. February 1, 2010 8:08 pm

    I dreamt I was making out with my 8th grade crush. I can lend you that dream any time you want it – he was kinda cute!

  12. Debby permalink
    February 2, 2010 12:00 am

    I’ve been thinking about you today, Kathy. Many healing vibes coming from the greater St. Louis area.

  13. Ruth from SC permalink
    February 2, 2010 3:57 am

    I like the postcard idea too! That’s something that I can do from afar – I really wish that I lived near you and could bring in meals, flowers,cleaner bees, etc, but may have to settle for postcards for now………

Leave a comment